Surrender

'Beautiful, wise and deeply moving - for readers of Rebecca Solnit (...)' – Joanna Kavenna

Blending memoir with reportage, criticism with nature writing, SURRENDER is a narrative non-fiction work on the changing landscape of the American West, inspired by a two-year stay in Montana. At a time of personal crisis, after losing her parents and beginning menopause, Joanna Pocock becomes fascinated with radical environmental movements. She witnesses the annual tribal bison hunt near Yellowstone Park, where she meets a scavenger community honing ancestral skills. She joins Finisia Medrano, a transsexual rewilder, to learn about life on the Hoop. She attends the Ecosex Convergence, an annual gathering of people who place their relationship with the earth above everything else. With Surrender, Joanna Pocock offers a provocative and profound examination of life in an era of increasing climatic disruption.

Reviews

»Surrender is an astonishing book about the fragility of nature, grief, the American West, the consolations of travel and the exquisite agonies of mortal life. Pocock travels widely in time and space, through memories, visions, the deaths of her parents and the birth of her child. Beautiful, wise and deeply moving, this is ambulatory philosophy at its finest – for readers of Rebecca Solnit, Lauren Elkin, Garnette Cadogan and Iain Sinclair.«
Joanna Kavenna, author of A Field Guide to Reality

»A bewitching and deeply affecting book. Pocock’s elegant interweaving of the intimate and the expansive, the personal and the universal, culminates in a work that forces us to consider our own place in, and impact upon, a world that could itself have more past than future.«
The Spectator

»Written with great narrative richness and an anthropologist’s intrepid gaze, Surrender is fascinating, urgent and profoundly compelling. It is an important addition to nature’s library.«
Chloe Aridjis, author of Sea Monsters


Original Language

English, Fitzcarraldo Editions

Further Editions

ENGLISH (NA) Anansi
SPANISH (World) Errata Naturae

Available Material

English pdf

Rights

on behalf of Fitzcarraldo Editions
World excl. English, French, Italian, Portuguese, Scandinavian languages, Spanish


Joanna Pocock

Joanna Pocock is an Irish-Canadian writer living in London. Her writing has notably appeared in the Los Angeles Times, the Nation and on the Dark Mountain blog. She was shortlisted for the Barry Lopez Narrative Nonfiction Prize in 2017, and won the 2018 Fitzcarraldo Editions Essay Prize for SURRENDER.